Doggie Landscaping

Fall 2013

The mulch started wearing a little thin in places, so we decided that when the leaves fell, we would not rake them up.

IMG_6813

Freshly fallen leaves.

I also got the late summer planting bug and decided to put in some small shrubs in an empty part of the yard.

best pic i haveThis is the best picture I have.  In the far corner there is a rose that has lost its leaves for the year, but has survived numerous tramplings.  

I chose knock out roses (which I had read would bloom in shade).  They have done ok.  I got 6, and 3 are still alive.  The dogs took to peeing on the plants in a certain area, and I think that’s what did them in.  I didn’t realize it before I put the plants in, but the dogs do have specific areas in the yard where they like to pee.  If I’m going to try to put plants in those areas, they’re going to have to be more urine resistant.

I also got 2  mountain laurel cultivars which are smaller than the species, but supposed to have more blooms.  These, as far as I can tell, are dead.  I don’t know for sure that it was being peed on that killed them, but they are acid loving plants and urine is basic.  The dogs didn’t water them super often, but perhaps it was often enough.  I hope they come back in the spring, but I’m not holding my breath.  (They’re supposed to be evergreen.)

I got one gardenia as a spur of the moment purchase.  It’s a non-native, but it smelled so good I had to have it.  It’s evergreen, and it’s done wonderfully.  The variety I got was G. jasminoides, “crown jewel.”  While the genus is typically tropical, this plant is winter hardy in zone 6.

That’s all for now.  I’ll be planting more in the spring.  Please write with suggestions or comments!!!

Leave a Reply

