Career Break

Exciting Revelation About Exercise

So, I wasn’t going to post unless I has anything to say, but… I think I’ve got something.

I’ve always struggled with exercise. I don’t like it at all. It’s not that I don’t like physical activity, I just don’t like exercise. I don’t get this mysterious post-exercise high that some people talk about. There is no satisfaction in “a good sweat”. After I finish a good workout the best case scenario is that I’m in a “glad that’s over, now I can move on with my day” kinda mood, and the worst case scenario is that I’m in a “I hate everyone I’m going to punch a pillow, cry, and eat ice cream” kinda mood.

I know I’m not the only person who gets put in a terrible mood by exercise – I’ve googled it and found kindred spirits. I’ve also found advice for overcoming it, which basically boils down to the following two suggestions:

1. Find something you enjoy doing (right, but gardening and meandering through the woods don’t exactly get my heart rate up)
2. Figure out what motivates you (until now I’ve always answered this with “because regular exercise is supposed to be good for you”)

“Because it’s supposed to be good for you” is the worst motivation ever, by the way. It’s a long winded way of saying “I dunno”, shrugging your shoulders, and exercising anyway.

Anyway, speaking of long winded, back to my exciting revelation. I may have found my motivation, and it can be summed up with the words “Look what I can do!”

In this case I’m the speaker and the audience is my inner child. My inner child is not impressed if I can do X number of burpees or lift X amount of weight X amount of times. My inner child IS impressed if I can run to the big tree and back without getting out of breath, if I can stand on my head, or if I can do scorpion pose (I cannot, for the record).

I guess this is why I always gravitate back to yoga and running even though I don’t particularly enjoy them. I find them inherently valuable. They’re also both free, solo activities – which appeals to my inner cheap introvert.

So, I don’t know if this excitement over this idea will last, but I’m excited about it now, so I thought I’d share.

Leave a Reply

