Career Break

Career Break March Update

I’m not sure why anyone would care, but here’s how I’m spending my time these days:

 

Walk/jogging with the dogs.  This is the best way to get cardio for someone like me.  I take the dogs on a trail, and we all run together excitedly.  Then I run out of breath and walk for a while.  Then I pick up the pace and eventually I’m jogging behind them.  If they stop to sniff, I do squats.

 

Taking the dogs to the dog park.  It’s a nice, low key way to spend the morning (even though I recently got out smarted by a dog and lost a fluffy toy and a container of treats as a result).

 

Learning Irish and German.  I don’t know why I can’t seem to force myself to stick with Spanish, but I can’t.  I tried learning it at the beginning but kept getting mixed up with Irish.  I don’t seem to be having that problem with German, yet.  Perhaps this is because I’m further along with my Irish?  Perhaps this is because German is so different?  I dunno.  We’ll see if I stick with the German or not.

 

I’m not really playing musical instruments anymore.  I bought a low whistle, which is nice to play but ever time I play it my dog starts howling.  Sure, it’s cute – but do you know how hard it is to practice when there’s howling?  I guess I could pick up the guitar again, but… meh.

 

I try to do yoga at least once or twice a week.  I still don’t care for it, but I can feel my muscles losing their flexibility when I don’t do it.

 

Chores and gardening.  Mostly it’s indoor gardening at this point, but I have snow peas and sugar snap peas outside under cloches that survived 15 F nights.  They’re under a foot of snow at the moment, but I’m hopeful that when it melts they’ll still be alive, perky and green.

 

In general, I am in LOVE with the non-working life.  It is fantastic.  I don’t get bored.  I feel healthy and happy.  If I could afford to never work again, I would.  I don’t care about being a productive little capitalist anymore – I’m having too good a time just being me.  Also, I love all this alone time.  Being around people is so draining.  During an average week I may have one or two short conversations at the dog park.  Maybe I can end up doing some kind of job where I grow and sell things from the house.  Also, I’m getting a lot more sleep – about 9.5 hours a night.  I always suspected I was one of those people who needed more than 8 hours.

 

Ok, I think that’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

